Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

The Fureys - 40 years on .... to be continued CD

Gift Wrapping:
Options available

Product Description

The Fureys - 40 years on .... to be continued CD

Legends of Irish music & song The Fureys, renowned for their hit songs I will Love You , When You Were Sweet 16 , The Green Fields of France , The Old Man , Red Rose Café , From Clare to Here , Her Father Didn t Like Me Anyway , Leaving Nancy , Steal Away etc have release a 40th Anniversary CD of 17 new recordings. The Fureys have been entertaining audiences worldwide for 40 years, audiences that have included former Australian Prime Minister John Howard, Former Irish President Mary McAleese and the late Pope John Paul while Tony Blair has publicly stated his favourite peace song of all time is the Fureys Green Fields of France . Recently, Ireland President Michael D Higgins attended their concert in Dublin s National Concert Hall. The band was formed in 1978 literally by accident. George, Paul and Davey were playing in Denmark with their own band called the Buskers and Eddie and Finbar, while touring in Germany, were involved in a road accident. When George and Paul got news of the accident they immediately travelled to Germany to be with their brothers. They then decided that they should all be playing together and this was the start of the Fureys. Inevitably changes have occurred over the years. Their brother Paul died suddenly in June 2002 and Finbar left the band in December 1996, however George and Eddie have continued to delight audiences on their tours. The oldest of the brothers, Eddie Furey left home in 1966 and travelled to Scotland at the time of the great folk revival where he met and shared accommodation in Edinburgh with then unknown folk singers Billy Connolly, Gerry Rafferty and Alex Campbell, now all famous in their own right. In 1969 with his brother Finbar, he was the special guest for the Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem throughout the USA and Canada. In 1971 he moved to mainland Europe where he toured for seven years, building up a huge following particularly in Germany. Dave Stewart from the Eurythmics has credited Eddie with teaching him his first chords on guitar when they met up in the North East of England while Dave was still a teenager. The Fureys are responsible for some of the most stirring music ever to capture the public imagination. Their folk based music has received standing ovations in some of the biggest concert halls of the world and they credit their musical ability to their parents, Ted and Nora, who were well known musicians themselves.

  1. Days Gonna Come
  2. Season in the Sun
  3. Darling
  4. The Family Tree
  5. Streets of London
  6. If You Could Read My Mind
  7. Wooden Heart
  8. Don't Think Twice
  9. The Sound of Silence
  10. Teach Your Children
  11. Shenandoah
  12. Meet Me On the Corner
  13. Love Is Pleasing
  14. You've Got a Friend
  15. Universal Soldier
  16. Moonshadow
  17. Turn Turn Turn

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Click the button below to add the The Fureys - 40 years on .... to be continued CD to your wish list.